Indulgence

12 Jul

LITTLE ORANGE MEN by Jackson Boyle

I attack thick rind,
Pierce rubbery armor with my nails.
It parts on a ripping sigh.
Droplets sprinkle my nose and cheeks,
Sting my eyes.

My tongue can taste him.
I swallow the craving,
Patiently pulling him apart.
I line the sections up
In analytical rows
On white paper.

The fruit weeps,
Big tears that pool and spread,
Darkening the toweling.

I select a slice,
Bend it till it breaks.
Teardrop bits shiver
Between thin membranes.
I bite down.
Pulp explodes.

I crush the marrow,
The core I labored to find.
Sweetness bleeds out on my tongue.
I won’t cry.

Check in on the indulgences of other Sunday Scribblers.

6 Responses to “Indulgence”

  1. Geraldine July 12, 2009 at 5:35 pm #

    THis is WONDERFUL!!! Glad I found your blog. Thanks for visiting mine too.

  2. Serena July 12, 2009 at 7:09 pm #

    Very nice, Nara!

  3. JanePoet ~ JP/deb July 12, 2009 at 8:53 pm #

    Delicious!!!

    Peace,
    JP/deb

  4. Dee July 12, 2009 at 9:37 pm #

    Yummy poor little orange man 🙂

  5. Linda may July 13, 2009 at 5:57 am #

    This is so wonderfully descriptive I can taste it.

  6. naramalone July 16, 2009 at 7:45 pm #

    Thanks for the feedback. I learn so much from all of you, both here and on your blogs.

Leave a Reply

