Stardust

22 Jul

Falling Star

You were around before I was
I never thought you’d be gone before I was
I watched your stars reaching for the heavens
And I mourned with you when they fell
Maybe I took you for granted
Maybe you’ll find a way to rise again
Today I mourn again
Watching Atlantis descend
Goodbye NASA

This post was written as part of G-Man’s Friday Flash 55. Click here to see what others have written or join the fun yourself.

18 Responses to “Stardust”

  1. Alice Audrey July 22, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    It’s a scary thought to me. NASA generated most of the good in our lives over the last few decades.

    • naramalone July 26, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

      Yeah, it’s hard to know what all that lost research could have accomplished.

  2. Galen Lee Haynes July 22, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    Nara ….
    I was saddened as well.
    I was around before Sputnik and the whole Space Race thing.
    Loved your 55 Today.
    Thanks for playing…AGAIN
    You Rock!!
    Please have a Kick Ass Week-End…G

  3. Cheryl July 22, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    Beautifully written 55. I was raised watching the first flights. This program may be over but I doubt NASA is done exploring.

    • naramalone July 26, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

      I think you’re right. There are still a few projects going in deeper space.

  4. Mama Zen July 22, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    Marvelous 55!

  5. Monkey Man July 22, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    Well stated.

    • naramalone July 26, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

      Thanks for dropping in, Monkey Man.

  6. brian July 22, 2011 at 6:43 pm #

    you know for one growing up with the space program, yeah it is sad to see it go..esp aftr all the memorable trips….

    • naramalone July 26, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

      It would have been nice if we could have seen them land astronauts on Mars.

  7. Heaven July 23, 2011 at 6:36 am #

    This is a beautiful share…haunting and sad too!

    Nice to meet you~

    • naramalone July 26, 2011 at 3:33 pm #

      Hi there, Heaven. Nice meeting you. Thanks for taking time to say hi. 🙂

  8. Mary Kling July 23, 2011 at 7:14 pm #

    Excellent. I found it so sad that we have seen the last of the space shuttles. Your poem captures the feeling oh so very well.

    • naramalone July 26, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

      Thank you, Mary. I still find it hard to believe the shuttle launches are over.

  9. Jingle July 23, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

    I remember the event, the heroes and heroines..
    what a remarkable 55.
    your kindness is precious.

    Happy Weekend.
    love your 55.

    • naramalone July 26, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

      Thank you, Jingle. A lot of brave men and women gave their lives to reach for the stars.

Leave a Reply

